Recent Posts

Topics

Archives

17
MAR

Country Life Is Certified Gluten-Free!!

Filed Under: Announcements & News at 8:52 am | By: Susan Coyle, Senior Editor
Country Life LogoFor a celiac, the switch from gluten-ous to gluten-free is supposed to be one that maximizes health.  It is supposed to bring an end to the unexplainable ailments and years of suffering. But the new diet isn’t always the beacon of wellness it appears to be. The removal of gluten often removes several key nutrients as well. As a result, most celiacs are forced to take a vitamin, or two, to stave off deficiency. But even that can be difficult, for gluten lurks in vitamins, too, and while many companies claim to be gluten-free, a claim isn’t always truth.

Is there a way, then, for the consumer to be sure?

Yes. The Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO) works to identify products that are truly gluten-free, by setting standards that are stricter than the government’s.  No item can receive certification if it contains more than 10ppm gluten – a regulation twice that of the FDA’s – and field inspections ensure that once certification has occurred, the manufacturer doesn’t change his ways. So if a celiac can find a GFCO certified product, he knows he’s safe.

As luck would have it, LuckyVitamin.com happens to have one such product-line: Country Life.  The company has been around since 1971, working to give consumers products that make self-care and self-improvement possible. Last week, the GFCO announced that Country Life had received the organization’s official stamp of approval, making it the first and only vitamin manufacturer to be certified gluten-free

Simplifies the selection process a bit, doesn’t it?

More Related Products




One Response to “Country Life Is Certified Gluten-Free!!”

  1. Kyle says:

    Gluten free on the cookie paackge was indicating that there wasn’t any gluten from wheat, rye or barley in the cookies. Any food that doesn’t have wheat, rye or barley in it would be gluten free. For instance, all fresh fruits and vegetables are gluten free.However, in most sauces, soups, and food processing in general, some form of wheat, rye or barley is added or used to help with flavor, binding, setting or just bulk. So some companies have found ways to make products without those additives hence gluten free on the paackge so that people can find them and buy.

Leave a Reply